reviews


1 July 2016 via Flipkey

Randy P, Alexandria, Virginia
Perfect location

I chose the Blinkwater to host a decade birthday celebration with my partner and 5 other friends. I’d been to Cape Town twice before, and picked Camps Bay as the setting for the “newbies” to explore all that the Western Cape has to offer. The Villa is modern, clean and quiet. It is perfectly situated above Camps Bay, but we could still hear the ocean for the spacious outdoor pool and decks. The views from the Villa of the beach to the West, as well as Lions Head and Table Mountain, are spectacular. The bedrooms were spacious and bathrooms had all the amenities one could want. The kitchen has plenty of dishes and the right pots/pans and utensils for making any meal. We chose to do most breakfasts and dinners in the Villa. The built in Siemens espresso/coffee machine was a real treat for the coffee addicts! The Villa comes with staff (house cleaners) that were very thorough and professional, and made the stay more enjoyable and carefree. Cape Town and most attractions were a $4 Uber ride (or less), and the Hop on Hop Off bus – which is a great way to explore the area – has a stop in Camps Bay about 6 blocks from the Villa. Alma and Chris were terrific hosts!

Our reply: “Dear Randy Thank you for your brilliant review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and hope to see you again in the near future. We have visited La Motte recently and thought of your review as well. It was lovely to be able to provide visits from Louis during your stay! Take much care and thanks again! Regards Chris and Alma”

 

4 June 2016 via Flipkey

S. Shasan, Cincinnati, Ohio

The Blinkwater has it all!

The villa is spacious, luxurious yet comfortable, and with amazing views of Camp’s Bay and Table Mountain. The hosts are terrific; welcoming and very helpful. My family, including wife and two children and sister-in-law, had an amazing 4 days in Capetown, and the Blinkwater was a great home base. The floor plan is open and there is plenty of natural lighting through the floor to ceiling windows. We loved having breakfast in the bright dining area or outside on the main patio. The children loved having their own bedrooms and everything (kitchen, TVs, etc) is state of the art. We wished for warmer winter weather to enjoy the private pool, and – because there was so much to do in Capetown – we wished for more time to enjoy everything the Blinkwater had to offer. We were all sad to leave and can’t wait to return. I can’t imaging a better vacation rental for a large family in Capetown. As they say in South Africa: “Brilliant!”

12 January 2015

Stephane, via TripAdvisor

“Highly recommended – Excellent”
The location is just perfect, safe and quite although it is at walking distance of all the services and all the restaurants of the nice beach of Camps Bay – Cape Town. The views from the villa on the mountains and the sea are astonishing. The villa is very nicely designed, decorated and modern. The services provided, and the friendly owners were more than excellent and have been far above our well experienced travellers ‘s expectations.

17 November 2014

Ricardo, New York (US) via booking.com

Apart from the fact that the property is excellent. We paid in excess by error and the owners spot the error and contact me to refund!. Simply fantastic. I can say 100% client satisfaction.

2 November 2014

Ali, London (GB) via booking.com

“10/10 for value, staff, service, cleanliness, location”

27 October 2014

Richard, Bryanston (ZA) via booking.com

Magnifique villa avec une vue à couper le souffle sur Table Moutain et la mer qui est à quelques minutes à pied de la villa. Spacieux, moderne, superbement décorée, la villa est magnifique et idéalement équipée. La machine a espresso integrée et les douches vitrées ont été très appréciées ! Le personnel est discret et efficace, et l’accueil est parfait par les propriétaires. On serait bien resté plus longtemps…

Translated: “Magnificent villa with breathtaking views of Table Mountain and the sea that is a few minutes walk from the villa. Spacious, modern, beautifully decorated, the villa is beautiful and perfectly equipped. The machine has integrated espresso and glass showers were much appreciated! The staff are discreet and efficient, and the reception is perfect by the owners. We would have stayed longer … ”

October 2014

Anonymous via booking.com

We hebben een geweldig verblijf gehad in deze schitterende villa! Ligging is perfect, op 1 minuut van de gezellige boulevard van Camps Bay met leuke restaurants waar je heerlijk kan eten. Vanuit de villa kom je met de auto makkelijk op mooie plekken in en een rondom Kaapstad, absolute aanrader!

Translated: “We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful villa! Location is perfect, 1 minute from the boulevard of Camps Bay with nice restaurants where you can eat. From the villa you come by car easily on beautiful places in and around Cape Town, highly recommended! ”

21 October

Myles G via TripAdvisor

Having visited Cape Town on business for many years, myself and two colleagues decided to look for an alternate to a hotel on the V&A Waterfront for our recent trip. A search led me to The Blinkwater in Camps Bay, and I’m so pleased it did.
The house is fantastic; contemporary; comfortable; fitted out to a very high standard. My highlight being the freshly ground coffee machine. Chris and Alma were attentive hosts without ever being intrusive, Alma laid on a fantastic breakfast each morning and the maid service was super efficient.
A great place to stay and I hope to return soon, either for work or with my family.

12 October 2014

Julie, Cheshire, United Kingdom via TripAdvisor

“This villa ticked every box and much more”
I cannot rate this accommodation highly enough everything about is perfect. The location is within walking distance of camps bay shops and restaurants. We were in Cape Town for a family wedding and therefore needed extra accommodation for family to stay. The villa is is perfectly furnished and kitchen has every utensil you would ever need.
Alma and Chris make perfect hosts who are always on hand to assist with any help you may require. The fridge was stocked with a basic essentials plus tea and coffee and preserves in addition a welcoming bottle of red wine which I believe Chris’s favourite wine. There is a daily maid service who will clear and wash up for you, clean the rooms and make up the beds.
Nothing is too much trouble..Although information online doesn’t allow you to book a cot they are able to provide a cot subject to availability. Alma quickly responded to my online request advising the nominal cost. Excellent free internet access. I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

8 October 2014

Cecile, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

“Total Bliss”
It is with fondest of memories I look back to the time I spent at The Blinkwater Villa in April 2012. The Blinkwater let me experience so much of what Cape Town is legendary for from the luxury of my sumptuous king size bed. The views, scents and sounds through the sliding doors, the majestic mountains and Bay below took my breath away. From inhaling the fresh Atlantic air, smelling the pungent ‘fynbos’ from the manicured terrace to listening to the waves lapping on the beach below it was an experience that massaged every one of the senses.
I felt utterly spoilt and self-indulgent in the best possible way within the villa, but the outside world beckoned via the beautifully manicured gardens and poolside terraces to the vibrant and buzzy area of downtown Camps Bay with its trendy boutique hotels, restaurants and beautiful bodies on sandy beaches. From dawn to dusk the villa enchants. I vividly recall one of those magical nights we sat on the terrace, basked in moonlight, watching a fairy trail of night trippers navigating their way up and down Lion’s Head while our mouth watering feast of Karoo lamb was sizzling on the barbecue. That’s indeed the stuff that memories are made of. I want to, need to, HAVE to go back soonest for another fix.

17 May 2014

Anonymous (8 adults with older parents and family) – Thailand via Tripadvisor

“Very pleasant stay, great landlords… Everything is over expectation!!!”
The house is amazing. Impeccable interior design with great functions. Equipped with all facilities you can name it e.g. washing machine, dishwasher, coffee maker, oven, microwave, kitchen, full kitchen-ware, hairdryer etc. The kitchen is so perfectly equipped with full kitchenware and utensils that we decided to cook almost everyday during our stay. The living room also makes us feel like home with TV, dvd player and comfy sofa. Great location: Perfectly located in Camps Bay area. From the house we can see the Lion head very clearly. The area is very safe and only 200-300 meters to lots of restaurants and supermarket?. Friendly and helpful landlord: The landlords (Alma and Chris) are very nice and friendly. At Blinkwater, we feel like staying at our friend’s house with the great hospitality from Alma and Chris. Before the trip, I emailed and ask Alma a lot of questions about the area, and she was very helpful in providing us information. Thanks Alma!? Don’t miss the coffee or cappucino at Blinkwater (The built-in Siemens coffee machine is not only state-of-art but also give us the best coffee!! Very impressive).

26 April 2014

Anonymous (family with older children), Germany via Booking.com

Wunderschön eingerichtete Villa, große Glasfronten, Blick auf Lions Head ,Tafelberg und die Bucht von Campsbay, 2 Minuten zu Fuß vom Strand trotzdem ruhig, Luxusbäder im Top Design, perfekt eingerichtete Küche, supernetter Vermieter

Translated: “Beautifully furnished villa, large glass fronts overlooking Lions Head, Table Mountain and the bay of Campsbay, 2 minutes walk from the beach yet quiet, luxury baths in the top design, perfectly equipped kitchen, super nice owner”

February 2014

Clare G, UK via Tripadvisor

“This villa definitely has the “WOW” factor!”
This villa is true to its pictures on the website, luxurious and contemporary throughout. The villa is minutes from the beach and local shops with outstanding views of the mountains and beach. The villa was immaculate and was exceptionally well maintained, there is full internet access, air con, BBQ and all rooms were more than spacious. We loved entertaining here and everyone who came to the villa fell in love with it. We couldn’t have asked for more from the owners, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we couldn’t have asked for a more friendlier team of people. We would not hesitate to recommend this villa, it exceeded all of our expectations.

January 2014

ML – UK via Tripadvisor

“Amazing place, great landlords, much recommended”
We stayed here with six friends and really enjoyed it. The design and furnishing is very good. Everything you could need in the kitchen is there and a generous supply of china and glassware. Coffee machine, ice, cold water it’s all there. Nice patio area with BBQ and small pool. Would love to go back if we ever have the excuse to entertain several friends in Cape Town again but it is a bit large for two!

October 2013

Leon P, Prague, Czech Republic via Tripadvisor

“Absolutely Magnificent! Beautiful, comfortable and luxurious”
This house is perfect! Perfectly situated close to the beach (2 minute walk), the hud of Camps Bay, the mountain and close to all the place you want to be. The Waterfront, City Bowl ect. Yet, it is so quiet, secluded in the nook of the mountain. The most amazing views of the ocean and mountain! Very beautiful house and so comfortable. Ideal for families of friends, every room is private, yet the entertainment areas (patio, kitchen, lounge and dining room) are fantastic-open plan very comfortable and luxurious. Thoroughly enjoyed the place and our stay! Felt like so at home, yet so spoiled!

October 2013

Sue, UK via Tripadvisor

“Beautiful, luxury villa in Camps Bay, Cape Town”
A beautiful villa overlooking camps bay. The views are wonderful. The villa itself is luxury…the built in coffee machine was a delight! The maids come in daily except Sunday and will do your washing for you if you want! There is even a guard dog..Lewis…who is a loveable boxer the owners are on hand should you need anything and are lovely and friendly. Would highly recommend staying here.

Posted by on 9:38 am in Uncategorized | 0 comments

...

read more